Login    Register
  • Author
    Message

Tpots is dark!

Postby calroger » Tue 20. Oct 2015, 22:40

A couple months ago, MYSTLER advised me of a trick to login to tpots after upgrading to Windows 10. That suggestion worked and I was able to login. However, at that time, I just logged in but did no exploring.

Now, a couple months later, I wanted to checkout the newest update to Elodea. I installed the update from Drizzle and logged into tpots. That's when I discovered everything is much darker than usual. It is dark enough that I can't play the game.

TOC-Moul works fine. I don't want to make changes to my monitor settings since all other software that I use displays fine. Gamma is set to maximum. Running compatible with Windows 7 and using administrator mode.

Under the graphics tab of the login screen, there is no adjustment for brightness. The in-game help screen has the gamma adjustments and some other adjustment that affect sharpness and general appearance. Nothing for brightness.

Can someone help brighten my tpots world?

Thanks in advance.
Cal
Cal (Akon in game)
---------
HP Pavilion P6347C, AMD Athlon II X4 630 processor, 2.80 ghz
nVidia GeForce GT640 Graphic card
6 gb RAM
1.2 tb (1200 gb) on three drives
Windows 10 Home Edition
Directx V.11
calroger

User avatar
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed 25. Apr 2012, 23:56
Location: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Gender: Male
MOULa Name: Retiredman
MOULa KI#: 16603428
TOC-MOUL Name: Akon
TOC-MOUL KI#: 208406
TOC-TPOTS KI#: 0
DI KI#: 0
Gehn Shard Name: Retiredman
Gehn Shard KI#: 124834
Minkata KI#: 0

Re: Tpots is dark!

Postby calroger » Tue 27. Oct 2015, 04:29

I think the Gamma Control in Tpots is not working. I went into the nVidia control panel for my graphic card and found that the brightness, contrast, and gamma were set for application control. I unchecked the application control box and boosted the gamma to about 1.5. I then went into tpots and the visibility was much better. Unfortunately, this made the screen display for other apps too bright. After poking around in tpots for awhile, I exited and turned the app controlled functions back on in the nVidia control panel.

I am wondering if I need to reinstall the tpots launcher software and, if I do, will I lose my progress in the game?

Anybody have any thoughts on this dilemma?

Cal
Cal (Akon in game)
---------
HP Pavilion P6347C, AMD Athlon II X4 630 processor, 2.80 ghz
nVidia GeForce GT640 Graphic card
6 gb RAM
1.2 tb (1200 gb) on three drives
Windows 10 Home Edition
Directx V.11
calroger

User avatar
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed 25. Apr 2012, 23:56
Location: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Gender: Male
MOULa Name: Retiredman
MOULa KI#: 16603428
TOC-MOUL Name: Akon
TOC-MOUL KI#: 208406
TOC-TPOTS KI#: 0
DI KI#: 0
Gehn Shard Name: Retiredman
Gehn Shard KI#: 124834
Minkata KI#: 0

Re: Tpots is dark!

Postby Mystler » Tue 27. Oct 2015, 11:02

Afaik, you can set different settings for different apps in the nVidia Control Panel. Did you try that?

I think there is no need to reinstall the game, you wouldn't lose progress by doing so, though.
Mystler
Development Manager

User avatar
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Mon 11. Jul 2011, 16:14
Location: Germany
Gender: Male
MOULa Name: Mystler
MOULa KI#: 150272
TOC-MOUL Name: Mystler
TOC-MOUL KI#: 346
TOC-TPOTS KI#: 0
DI KI#: 0
Gehn Shard KI#: 0
Minkata KI#: 0

Re: Tpots is dark!

Postby calroger » Tue 27. Oct 2015, 20:11

I am using an nVidia GeForce GT640 graphics card. In the nVidia control panel, I find nothing for individual game settings. I have the GeForce Experience program which is for optimizing games but it reports no compatible games installed. Any other ideas?

Cal
Cal (Akon in game)
---------
HP Pavilion P6347C, AMD Athlon II X4 630 processor, 2.80 ghz
nVidia GeForce GT640 Graphic card
6 gb RAM
1.2 tb (1200 gb) on three drives
Windows 10 Home Edition
Directx V.11
calroger

User avatar
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed 25. Apr 2012, 23:56
Location: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Gender: Male
MOULa Name: Retiredman
MOULa KI#: 16603428
TOC-MOUL Name: Akon
TOC-MOUL KI#: 208406
TOC-TPOTS KI#: 0
DI KI#: 0
Gehn Shard Name: Retiredman
Gehn Shard KI#: 124834
Minkata KI#: 0

Re: Tpots is dark!

Postby Mystler » Wed 28. Oct 2015, 11:44

Oh, I'm sorry, looks like you can only have different profiles for the 3D settings, not for the color correction. :|
Mystler
Development Manager

User avatar
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Mon 11. Jul 2011, 16:14
Location: Germany
Gender: Male
MOULa Name: Mystler
MOULa KI#: 150272
TOC-MOUL Name: Mystler
TOC-MOUL KI#: 346
TOC-TPOTS KI#: 0
DI KI#: 0
Gehn Shard KI#: 0
Minkata KI#: 0

Re: Tpots is dark!

Postby Wamduskasapa » Thu 29. Oct 2015, 07:06

I am having NO Problems with the Gamma settings in TPOTS with Windows 10 Pro After I switched back to IE 11 for an Internet Browser

My System
Spoiler:
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 10240)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Alienware
System Model: M18xR1
BIOS: Bios InsydeH2O Version 1.02-A05
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2960XM CPU @ 2.70GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 16384MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 16366MB RAM
Page File: 2400MB used, 30349MB available
DirectX Version: 11.2
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 120 DPI (125 percent)

Video Display Dual SLI
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580M
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce GTX 580M
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Display Memory: 4044 MB
Dedicated Memory: 1996 MB
Shared Memory: 2048 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Alienware PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: DELL
Monitor Id: SEC5448
Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (59.999Hz)
Output Type: Internal
Image
Wamduskasapa

User avatar
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat 30. Nov 2013, 01:31
Location: Columbia, MO
MOULa Name: Wamduskasapa
MOULa KI#: 69106
TOC-MOUL Name: Wamduskasapa
TOC-MOUL KI#: 273767
TOC-TPOTS Name: Wamduskasapa
TOC-TPOTS KI#: 56165
DI Name: Wamduskasapa
DI KI#: 208762
Gehn Shard Name: Wamduskasapa
Gehn Shard KI#: 12181
Minkata KI#: 0

Re: Tpots is dark!

Postby calroger » Thu 29. Oct 2015, 20:41

Although I absolutely loathe IE, I set IE as my default browser. It had no effect on tpots. The screen is still dark and the gamma control does absolutely nothing.

I am now setting my default browser back to Firefox and am looking into reinstalling tpots.

Cal
Cal (Akon in game)
---------
HP Pavilion P6347C, AMD Athlon II X4 630 processor, 2.80 ghz
nVidia GeForce GT640 Graphic card
6 gb RAM
1.2 tb (1200 gb) on three drives
Windows 10 Home Edition
Directx V.11
calroger

User avatar
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed 25. Apr 2012, 23:56
Location: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Gender: Male
MOULa Name: Retiredman
MOULa KI#: 16603428
TOC-MOUL Name: Akon
TOC-MOUL KI#: 208406
TOC-TPOTS KI#: 0
DI KI#: 0
Gehn Shard Name: Retiredman
Gehn Shard KI#: 124834
Minkata KI#: 0

Re: Tpots is dark!

Postby lure2203 » Fri 30. Oct 2015, 12:04

Good Morning,

I have tried to tPOTS on 8 computers running Windows 10 and bring gamma to run , unsuccessfully .

Only a backup roll to 8.1 could resolve the issue again .

Greetings from Hamburg

( translate from german to english with Google )
lure2203
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu 27. Mar 2014, 08:18
Gender: Male
MOULa KI#: 0
TOC-MOUL KI#: 0
TOC-TPOTS KI#: 0
DI KI#: 0
Gehn Shard KI#: 0
Minkata KI#: 0

Re: Tpots is dark!

Postby lure2203 » Thu 3. Dec 2015, 18:47

Good evening,

Windows 10 TH2 ( 1511) works on my machine TPOTS now correct.

Greetings from Hamburg


( translate from german to english with Google )
lure2203
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu 27. Mar 2014, 08:18
Gender: Male
MOULa KI#: 0
TOC-MOUL KI#: 0
TOC-TPOTS KI#: 0
DI KI#: 0
Gehn Shard KI#: 0
Minkata KI#: 0

Return to Technical Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest