Login    Register
  • Author
    Message

Re: Updates 2013/02/26

Postby Mystler » Tue 5. Mar 2013, 21:25

Win 8 works well, why?
Mystler
Development Manager

User avatar
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Mon 11. Jul 2011, 16:14
Location: Germany
Gender: Male
MOULa Name: Mystler
MOULa KI#: 150272
TOC-MOUL Name: Mystler
TOC-MOUL KI#: 346
TOC-TPOTS KI#: 0
DI KI#: 0
Gehn Shard KI#: 0
Minkata KI#: 0

Re: Updates 2013/02/26

Postby calroger » Tue 5. Mar 2013, 23:21

Most of this discussion centers around Win7 and XP. I am considering upgrading?????? to Windows 8 later this year. One thing that is stopping me right now is the program that tests your system for compatibility with WIN8 indicates that Flight Simulator is not compatible. {Perhaps in XPSP3 compatibility mode) I've got to get a lot more information before I make the leap. If you say that TOC-Moul works, that's good for me.

Keep up your good work.
Cal
Cal (Akon in game)
---------
HP Pavilion P6347C, AMD Athlon II X4 630 processor, 2.80 ghz
nVidia GeForce GT640 Graphic card
6 gb RAM
1.2 tb (1200 gb) on three drives
Windows 10 Home Edition
Directx V.11
calroger

User avatar
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed 25. Apr 2012, 23:56
Location: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Gender: Male
MOULa Name: Retiredman
MOULa KI#: 16603428
TOC-MOUL Name: Akon
TOC-MOUL KI#: 208406
TOC-TPOTS KI#: 0
DI KI#: 0
Gehn Shard Name: Retiredman
Gehn Shard KI#: 124834
Minkata KI#: 0

Re: Updates 2013/02/26

Postby Annabelle » Wed 6. Mar 2013, 06:51

I never heard issue with Windows 8 compatibility from explorers on any shards so far. I don't use it since i'm well served by Windows 7. Compatibility issue like Flight Simulator often comes just after the new operating system is released. With the pass of time, such issues tend to disappear.

I remember back 3 years ago, my scanner was not compatible with Windows 7 and... "would never be usable under Windows 7" (in other words... hey sweety why don't you throw it to the garbage and by a new sleek one?)...Guess what? I plugged it earlier this year and it's plug-and-play in 2013 saving electronic garbage and money!!!

New Microsoft's operating systems have conflicts until someone finds a solution and repairs the mess made by Microsoft.
Annabelle
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Fri 5. Aug 2011, 04:17
MOULa Name: Annabelle
MOULa KI#: 3632553
TOC-MOUL Name: Annabelle
TOC-MOUL KI#: 4827
TOC-TPOTS Name: Sophie
TOC-TPOTS KI#: 25444
DI Name: Annabelle
DI KI#: 28877
Gehn Shard Name: Annabelle-Sophie
Gehn Shard KI#: 10268
Minkata Name: Annabelle-Sophie
Minkata KI#: 4247

Re: Updates 2013/02/26

Postby Mystler » Wed 6. Mar 2013, 21:14

Most of your stuff should work well with Windows 8. Besides, I really like Windows 8 since it is fast and does not consume as many resources as Vista/7.

In case you are not using 7 and are happy with it, I recommend a switch to Windows 8.

Furthermore, I'd like to remind XP users that Microsoft originally wanted to drop XP support this year and only delayed the inevitable until 2014. XP is starting to become old and I'm not sure how long client support for XP will be maintained after that. You should consider an upgrade sooner or later.
Mystler
Development Manager

User avatar
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Mon 11. Jul 2011, 16:14
Location: Germany
Gender: Male
MOULa Name: Mystler
MOULa KI#: 150272
TOC-MOUL Name: Mystler
TOC-MOUL KI#: 346
TOC-TPOTS KI#: 0
DI KI#: 0
Gehn Shard KI#: 0
Minkata KI#: 0

Re: Updates 2013/02/26

Postby Charura » Thu 7. Mar 2013, 01:07

Or you can partition your existing hard drive to handle both as I did in one evening...XP on one partition...7 on the other...no problems with either...and I'm quite sure since hard drives are so huge these days that a third partion could be another option for 8 although my puter mainboard is not compatible to 8
Charura
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue 9. Aug 2011, 20:42

Re: Updates 2013/02/26

Postby Mystler » Thu 7. Mar 2013, 18:31

Personally, I do not see reasons to install several windowses at the same time. One master win can handle everything quite well and if you really need an older version for old software, you can still setup a VM.
Mystler
Development Manager

User avatar
 
Posts: 651
Joined: Mon 11. Jul 2011, 16:14
Location: Germany
Gender: Male
MOULa Name: Mystler
MOULa KI#: 150272
TOC-MOUL Name: Mystler
TOC-MOUL KI#: 346
TOC-TPOTS KI#: 0
DI KI#: 0
Gehn Shard KI#: 0
Minkata KI#: 0

Re: Updates 2013/02/26

Postby calroger » Thu 7. Mar 2013, 18:43

Mystler wrote:Personally, I do not see reasons to install several windowses at the same time. One master win can handle everything quite well and if you really need an older version for old software, you can still setup a VM.

Although multiple versions of Windows on separate hard drives or partitions may not be necessary, on a couple of occasions in the past I have had Windows on one drive and Linux on a second drive. Linux is now gone from my computer and that drive now houses my photo collection. I still have several versions of Linux on DVDs.

Cal
Cal (Akon in game)
---------
HP Pavilion P6347C, AMD Athlon II X4 630 processor, 2.80 ghz
nVidia GeForce GT640 Graphic card
6 gb RAM
1.2 tb (1200 gb) on three drives
Windows 10 Home Edition
Directx V.11
calroger

User avatar
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed 25. Apr 2012, 23:56
Location: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Gender: Male
MOULa Name: Retiredman
MOULa KI#: 16603428
TOC-MOUL Name: Akon
TOC-MOUL KI#: 208406
TOC-TPOTS KI#: 0
DI KI#: 0
Gehn Shard Name: Retiredman
Gehn Shard KI#: 124834
Minkata KI#: 0

Previous

Return to MOUL Updates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests